A Foreclosure Story: White Desk Stuff: (2) Beginnings & Ends

13 Mar

Image

White Desk Stuff, Chapter Two

Beginnings & Ends

Let’s start in the near beginning, which I hadn’t known was the beginning. I was twenty one when I first moved out of my parents’ house. My little brother was a young seventeen years old. We were going to move in together. We had bright ideas and hopeful eyes. The promise of a future was laid out before us in dreams and vodka shots. We’d have it all.

Rats had infested our old house. They lit a fire under my ass. Time to get the hell out of here. Waking up with rat shit in my bed under my covers: that was my incentive. It was a sudden decision. Our grandfather’s house was empty. He had died years ago. F#%@ it, let’s move in there and take over the responsibility of the bills before we lose it to the bank. It meant something to me to save it. It was my grandpa’s. He died Christmas Eve when I was twelve years old. I still remember. The pain is something that can fade like a dimming light, only it never goes out. It burns deep inside you and you don’t forget, you only remember when you choose to, and sometimes when you don’t choose to.

We packed our sh#t and got out and moved into the house. Living with him were some of the best years of my life, and I still wish my other brother had been with us. Although, the sudden responsibility of having to buy oil and pay other bills on top of my own bills was weighing on me. We were living off ramon noodles and pasta, but still, we were having fun. The glory of the ramon noodle chicken flavor didn’t taste cheap. It tasted like freedom. We tasted our first bite of life on our own, without our parents.

Looking back, I don’t know how we both afforded to smoke cigarettes. We realized we needed a roommate and we did just that; inviting someone else to join in on the crazy. While the three of us (plus friends & my other brother) were having fun and going bat sh#t crazy, I didn’t realize my mother was struggling to pay her own bills.

At the time, she was dealing with health issues having to do with brain atrophy and confusion. Since I wasn’t living with her, I didn’t realize how bad it had gotten. Long story short, it didn’t work out. We were having issues with family in regards to us staying in the house vs. them wanting to sell it. After about two years of us living out of the nest, almost as quickly as we moved in, we moved out. My little brother moved to Jersey City and I moved back in to the nest with my mom and other brother.

Once I moved back in, the foreclosure process had already just about began. My Great Oma passed away, and my mom went down to Florida to visit her mother and brothers. She was there for almost a month and due to the fact that she wasn’t home or working, she missed a month’s payment for the mortgage. When she came back, the next month, she sent them about half the monthly mortgage payment, but they sent it back; saying they needed the two months paid in full. Of course, if she couldn’t afford to pay the one month in full, how could she pay both?

This logic didn’t apply to the mortgage company, as they don’t see individual complications or family issues as something to do with paying your dues. And so, the foreclosure process began. We saw a light at the end of the tunnel. We didn’t think we’d actually lose the home we lived in for over twenty years. Our home. But we did.

***This is chapter two. If you want to read the rest of this book as I write it, just follow my blog and sign up for e-mail notifications for a new post. I’m putting this up here for free in hopes that it will reach even just one person whose house foreclosed and let you know you’re not alone.You can find the introduction and chapter one in the category ‘White Desk Stuff’ or ‘Non-fiction’. Thank you for reading. If you’ve been through this, or know someone who has lost their home, please comment. I will be self-publishing this book.

Leave a Reply

