The Perks of Being Anti-Social

10 Feb

 

Wait…what? Are there any perks? I often get a little confused when I’m asked: are you an introvert or an extrovert? Because often times, more than 99% of the time, I’m introverted. I prefer to stay home, alone, reading or writing or watching a movie and spending time doing things that I like to do. What a lot of people (who aren’t writers) don’t understand about the writing process is that it takes time; a LOT of time. You can read a book in a day or two, but could you write one that fast? Typically, no.

It takes hours to write 10 pages sometimes. Other times, if you’re really into it, you can write 10 pages in less than two hours. It depends on the flow of the writing. Sometimes you can sit there and stare at a blank page for at least an hour, thinking about butterflies and monkeys, and then remember that you have to write something but you forgot what you wanted to write. Don’t you hate that?

Being introverted doesn’t necessarily mean that you’re anti-social. Sometimes, I’m anti-social by preference. I might just not want to be around other people. I might prefer to be alone, getting things done. But I can also be extroverted, at certain times. If I’m out somewhere and I feel comfortable with the people surrounding me (even if they’re strangers), I can be highly outgoing. But in order for me to be this way, the people around me have to be my type of people. This includes but is not limited to: open-minded, funny, a bit sarcastic, non-judgmental, happy, good people. Other times, in other crowds, I can be quiet as if I don’t even know how to speak. This includes but is not limited to: closed-minded, judgmental, shallow, ignorant people.

Sometimes I just sit back and watch conversations unfold, thinking in my head how I’d hate to be a part of the conversation. I’m usually sitting there with a thought bubble of being home, kicking rocks, and how it’d be a sh#t load more fun than this.

Being stuck in a crowd of strangers can be really appealing at certain times. It can be fun. It can be an experience. You can meet new people, make new acquaintances, learn things, teach things, and just have a good time. Other times, it can be painstakingly awful. So you never know what you’re going to get until you go out and do them.

I used to be much more extroverted before I knew who I was. It was fun seeing all the different types of people out there. But then I realized that a lot of people just aren’t my cup of tea. And I don’t say that to seem above anyone. I am not above anyone. But I do believe there are a lot of people out there, who maybe don’t know who they are yet, or maybe they’re too afraid to be themselves. They then turn to ‘pleasing’ other people, trying to make them laugh with rude jokes or shallow comments. I just can’t co-sign that behavior. Side note: it’s not funny. It’s never funny to make jokes at someone else’s expense.

If you feel like you have to put other people down to get a laugh, maybe you should do some soul searching. Maybe you should try to envision back to when you were a child and had a dream. If you had one, maybe go for it. It’s never too late. If you never had one before, think about what the number one thing you want out of life is, and then go for it.

I have a lot of tattoos. A LOT. The looks I get from certain people are enough to make me think ‘you suck even worse than you think I suck’. As much as I hate to admit it, everyone is going to judge you. By what you wear, what you say, what you do, what piercings/tattoos you have. The trick is realizing that the people who judge you off the bat are people you don’t want in your life anyway. Chances are- they suck!

Isn’t the point of life to be who you are, regardless of what other people think?  That’s the point for me. If it’s not, what’s the point of being alive at all if we’re living for everyone else but ourselves? 

2 Responses to “The Perks of Being Anti-Social”

  1. Our Lady of What? February 11, 2014 at 1:59 am #

    The other night I realized that all my friends are introverts… which helped me conclude that I am one too. Haha. And you are so right about making jokes at other’s expenses! That’s not funny at all. I can’t co-sign it either.

Leave a Reply

