Phone Thugs

7 Dec

image

At my job I speak to countless people on the phone and I can’t help but wonder if some of them are as rude and obnoxious in person as they are on the phone.

Is it because they can’t see me or look into my eyes as they rattle off insults?

Is it easier to be rude on the phone because you don’t have to face someone?  Is it okay to take out your frustration on a random stranger who answers the phone?

Uhh, hell no.

I’d like to curse them off or remind them that it’s not my fault their life sucks in that one moment, but I’d be doing it almost all day and I just simply don’t have the time because I have to answer the next call that’s on hold because they felt like rambling on and on how I’m not satisfying their needs. So I just hang up on their stupid face and then curse repeatedly for thirty seconds.

Oh and yes, remember to repeat yourself three thousand times. That will definitely help matters. Because people listen so well.

Dealing with angry or unsatisfied clients is like trying to teach a dog how to play dead and fetch at the same time.

6 Responses to “Phone Thugs”

  1. andy1076 December 7, 2013 at 3:18 am #

    I worked customer service before, at a nationwide cable company call center and what I found, sadly? is there are those who are actually worse in person cause I’ve met some in person at the lobby etc 😦 sigh

    • Daily Rants with the Bitch Next Door December 7, 2013 at 6:26 am #

      That’s depressing! I met a few people in person, they said it was easier to be rude on the phone. Sigh. Some people just suck in general. My motto? Don’t be rude unless you have a reason to.

      • andy1076 December 7, 2013 at 4:57 pm #

        Sadly, lots don’t follow that motto 😦 some sort of sense of entitlement from a lot of people 😦

      • Daily Rants with the Bitch Next Door December 7, 2013 at 5:38 pm #

        Yeah I know. That’s exactly what it is. I always say it at work. Everyone is so entitled. It’s annoying

  2. kimberlyakinola December 10, 2013 at 3:27 am #

    In my opinion i think it’s vice-versa, Have been in situations where while calling a customer care center she suddenly flare up and ask me to go solve my problem myself or just f*** off and i knew all i could do is just make one call to the head-office and she will be so gone from the job the next day but i pinch myself not to cos i was trying to convince myself that she is probably in a foul mood but still hurling insults to a total stranger on phone is a bad idea that I myself don’t like. Nice article tho!

    • Daily Rants with the Bitch Next Door December 23, 2013 at 5:30 pm #

      I definitely agree with you there. It can happen the other way around like that too. I’ve had really poor customer service. There’s just no reason for it. You’re being paid, right? Being nice is part of the job! Sigh. Some people lack common sense and manners. Thanks for commenting!

Leave a Reply

