NaNoWriMo…Take 2.

2 Dec

So NaNoWriMo has officially ended, and I sadly didn’t reach the 50k word count. Did you? My father and I are declaring December to be NaNoWriMo take 2. November was the practice month.

So, if you’re one of many who failed to produce your desired word count, don’t fret. You still have a chance to write a novel. Deadlines work well for some people, but not all of them. I’m both familiar and comfortable with deadlines, but the bottom line is I got stuck on Chapter 5 and the answer to my plot struggles simply haven’t come yet. But I have faith that they will.

Forcing words can sound wrong, but quitting on a project before it’s finished is just plain silly. Keep writing. Persevere. Don’t feel guilty (like I do) about not finishing those 50,000 words. It’s never too late to keep going.

So, join me. December 1st-December 30th. Let’s try to finish our novels people. Or hell, let’s at least start a damn good one.

7 Responses to “NaNoWriMo…Take 2.”

  1. miguelalex888 December 2, 2013 at 6:26 am #

    I met the 50,000 words, but my novel is still only about 80% done. And then I have this other novel that I quit 70% of the way through. So I made the same decision to make December my own little NaNoWriMo part 2!
    Good luck to you!

    • Daily Rants with the Bitch Next Door December 2, 2013 at 6:29 am #

      Congratulations on achieving the word count!! And thank you, good luck to you as well on both novels. I’m sure they’ll come out wonderful.

  2. Gus Sanchez December 2, 2013 at 8:58 pm #

    I’m only at 15,000 words, but I want to finish by December 31st. I’m not the least bit bothered that I didn’t meet the 50K/30 days deadline, but I’m really thrilled with what I’m writing, and that beats some articifical deadline.

    Good luck, and let’s knock this out of the part this month!

    • Daily Rants with the Bitch Next Door December 5, 2013 at 2:49 am #

      I agree. I’m at 14000 words and some change. I beat myself up for a little while for not achieving the goal but then I realized that for me the pressure to pump out such an obnoxious number of words actually was blocking the natural creative process. It basically took the fun right out of why I write in the first place. Which is… I write what I want when I want. On my terms. So this month… It’s on my terms. Or ours I should say. Cheers to writing something worth reading!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Happy December! | The Claire Violet Thorpe Express - December 2, 2013

    […] NaNoWriMo…Take 2. (dailyrantswiththebitchnextdoor.wordpress.com) […]

  2. To the Rest of Us NaNoWriMo Failures | Stressing Out College - December 2, 2013

    […] NaNoWriMo… Take 2. (Daily Rants with the Bitch Next Door) […]

  3. NaNoWriMo Follow Up | PeoplePlacesThings - December 2, 2013

    […] NaNoWriMo…Take 2. (dailyrantswiththebitchnextdoor.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

