What Do Dogs Dream About?

16 May

As I was sitting on the couch, a little exhausted after working out, I looked at my dog.  She’s a Siberian husky.  She was fast asleep and dreaming.  Her paws were twitching.  We had just gotten back from a long walk not too long before she fell asleep. 

I couldn’t help but wonder what she was dreaming about.  Was she dreaming about her best friend, our old dog that we had to put down?  Did she miss him?  Was she dreaming about running outside during a blizzard and catching snow flakes?  Was she dreaming about howling at the moon?  Was she playing with all of her sisters?  Was she visiting her mom? 

I laid down beside her when she seemed to be moving her paws faster.  I wasn’t sure if she was frightened, maybe having a nightmare.  I kissed her on the snout and her eyes opened.  She put her paw on me and nuzzled her head into me, closing her eyes once again.  Whatever she was dreaming about, she wanted to go back.  She fell back asleep and I let her be. 

When she wakes up again, I’ll be here, wishing she could tell me all about her dream.  But instead, she’ll probably bark and I’ll let her out to pee.  Maybe one day I’ll be enlightened.  I hope so.  The curiosity is killing me. 

3 Responses to “What Do Dogs Dream About?”

  1. glenn May 16, 2013 at 11:21 pm #

    I wonder the same thing when i watch mydog sleeps .

  2. crankycaregiver May 16, 2013 at 11:31 pm #

    Our DOG, who passed away a couple of years ago used to “run” through the night (probably chasing rabbits). We have a new 4 month old puppy who hasn’t gained enough life experiences to “run” during his sleep yet! Great post!

  3. TheDisfigured May 17, 2013 at 4:50 pm #

    This was a beautiful post.
    I believe that dogs can have normal dreams, or crazy messed up ones like humans. In my opinion, if it has a soul, it can dream.

Leave a Reply

