Friend or Foe? Modern Tales of Woe

23 Feb

 Image

For starters, if you have to ask…it’s probably not a real friend.  I’ve heard more stories than I can count; Modern tales of woe of bad friendships and people sucking in general.  Why do some people suck so bad?  Is it genetics?  Were their parents bad friends and did they suck pretty bad too?  I can’t help but wonder.  A lot.

The number one rule (that is ignored by a lot of people) not only in friendship but in life is to treat other people how you would want to be treated.  Don’t be an a**hole, basically.  Why is that so hard for some people?  It’s pretty easy to not talk sh*t about other people, especially people that are your friends, or your friends’ friends.  Personally, I think people talk sh*t about other people that they’re jealous of or that they wish they were friends with or because they’ve grown up thinking it was cool to talk sh*t about other people.  News flash: It’s not! It makes you look like an a**hole.  If you don’t have anything better to say, that’s sad.  Read a book.  Get a life.  Talk about something interesting. 

The second rule in (my) life is to curse off people that are a**holes.  At least, that’s what I thought for a while.  Maybe that didn’t make me any better than them to begin with.  I just felt like…someone should tell people when they’re being an a**hole so maybe they could stop and not have as many people hate them.  I realized telling people off won’t make them change.  It will just usually turn them into a bigger a**hole, and make me one too for trying to make them realize they’re being whack.

I never believed in starting trouble for no reason.  And I used to believe in hitting people and cursing them off to make them realize they’re wrong, but as I get older I realize a simple “f@$! you!” does the trick.  Joking.  Kind of.  No, I don’t believe in fighting anymore, not unless a person really deserves it (example: they murdered someone you love).  But I still believe you should put someone in their place when they say rude sh*t.   If no one does, they might never learn. 

Maybe they were brought up to think a certain way that you and I don’t.  Maybe someone just needs to point out the simple fact that they’re being an obnoxious a**hole.  We are all here to learn lessons and grow as people.  You can’t grow without change and without realizing certain faults you have.  We all have faults.  We all make mistakes.  The important thing is learning from them and becoming a better person from that experience. 

The saddest friendships to me are the ones where two people are “friends” but they don’t even like each other.  If you secretly hate your friend, why do you talk to them?  If they’re an a**hole, let them know.  If you’re an a**hole, stop being one.  If you’re just too different than someone than you once were, there is no law saying you have to stay friends with someone. 

I believe in loyalty, but not in a situation like this.  You don’t have to remain loyal to someone you dislike, or someone who puts you down or treats you like sh*t.  Don’t’ feel guilty.  Chances are you’ve both changed.  Unless the problem is that they’ve never changed. I’m sure they’ll understand.  And if they don’t, who cares? You don’t have to cut them out of your life completely, unless of course…you want to. 

Leave a Reply

