The Fantasy of a Perfect Relationship

9 Feb

 Image

I’ve often wondered why I usually don’t have a boyfriend.  Part of me knows it’s because I have unrealistic expectations, bordering on the brink of impossible.  Another part of me knows it’s because I don’t have enough patience to try to explain to a man why he makes me so angry.  Another part of me knows it’s because I like time to myself. 

But a big part of me just doesn’t want to deal with all the spectacles of a relationship.  The fighting, the difference in opinions, the fact that I tend to not want to compromise because I’m so stubborn and strong-minded… This makes it all more of a hassle than a cherished part of my life. 

The main difference between men and women, in my opinion?  Men are physical creatures while women are emotional creatures.  That’s why we clash.  We think on different levels.  Men want to kiss and make-up after an argument because that’s how they show their affection, when women are still waiting for an apology.  Women don’t even want to be touched until we have forgiven you. 

If men could understand this, that usually all they have to do is apologize, and ask “why did that upset you?”  The fights would dwindle down and be over much faster than ever before.  It’s the fact that men are too preoccupied with the physical factors to worry about the emotional state of a woman’s mind.  (Note- I am not saying that all men want is sex. I know you care. It’s just how you show it.)

Note to mankind: Please just say sorry, whether you are or not is beside the point.  Please acknowledge when you f%#! up and make a mistake. 

Admitting when you’re wrong is a huge factor in a relationship.  I can admit when I’m wrong.  I think everyone should.  Everyone is wrong sometimes.  Don’t just pretend like you still think you’re right for pride’s sake.  Playing the victim all the time isn’t cute.  Blaming the other person for everything is unreal and unacceptable.  Everyone needs to be accountable for their actions.  Be a real man and/or woman and own up to your mistakes.  This all goes for women, too.

A relationship is never going to work unless two people communicate.  And communication involves honesty.  If you’re having trouble understanding what you did wrong, just ask.  If you’re having trouble trying to figure out how to explain why you’re mad, just start explaining.  It will work itself out.  The important thing is that you’re talking about it instead of sweeping it under the rug and pretending like nothing ever happened . 

The façade of a perfect relationship is all it is; a façade.  It isn’t real.  It’s in the movies, but it isn’t real.  It makes for good television, but the best romances are the real kind.  And the real kind isn’t all roses and kisses; it takes a lot of patience, hard work, time, effort, and honesty.  If you’re not willing to put all that effort into a relationship, just stay out of one and enjoy being single. 

Take this time to get your own sh%! together. Figure yourself out and who you are and what you want to do before you bring someone else into your already complicated life.  Two puzzled people don’t make a complete relationship.    

3 Responses to “The Fantasy of a Perfect Relationship”

  1. Rob February 9, 2013 at 4:43 pm #

    Interesting viewpoint: thanks for sharing.

    Please check out http://kisskaleidos.wordpress.com/, thanks.

  2. andy1076 February 9, 2013 at 4:47 pm #

    Show that you mean it otherwise you aren’t trying hard enough at all right? I’ve always given my 210% though sometimes I still get burned, Maybe just the wrong choices I made to ‘who’ I give the 210% to 😦

  3. TheDisfigured February 19, 2013 at 7:09 pm #

    Hardship strengthens a real relationship. I’ve always believed this. I agree with you- a perfect relationship isn’t real. But who wants perfection, you know?

Leave a Reply

