This Ones for the Girls…

8 Feb

Why does it seem like good products are some sort of big secret?  I think women should share them, not hide them. I figured I’d make a list of some of my favorite products to use, because I know it’s tough finding the right fit, and after a while, it seems like all products suck until you find “the one.” So here is a list of some of my own favorite things…

Favorite Make-up Remover:

Ponds Wet Cleansing Towelettes (can find in any drug store, shoprite, wal-mart, etc.)  All the kinds are good, but I wouldn’t get the citrus kind.  That’s more of a scrub and not as good for removing eye liner.  For removing eye make-up too, I’d get the blue or the pink kind.  They’re about $4. 

Image

(P.s…I discovered these accidentally.  I was crashing at a friend’s house after we went to a bar, and my girlfriend asked if I wanted to use one.  I fell in love and never went back to my old make-up remover again.) 

Favorite Hair spray:

Pantene Touchable Volume Hair spray

Image

Wear with your hair up, and spray on scalp, it gives it that strong hold you need and it pretty much lasts all day.  With your hair down, you can spray some of this on and your hair is still soft with less frizz.  You don’t get that hard hair spray feel like most of them. 

Favorite Shampoo:

Tresemme Naturals Vibrantly Smooth with coconut oil & jojoba extract

Image

Favorite Conditioner:

Tresemme Smooth & Silky Touchable Softness Conditioner

Image

My hair is pretty long (and dead).  From years of hot-iron abuse and coloring, my ends are pretty dead.  My hair is also curly, but the longer it is, the curls become waves because of the length.  This conditioner makes your hair unbelievably soft.  It’s worth the $4 or $5.  Even if you use a cheaper shampoo, splurge on a good conditioner.  It makes all the difference.

Favorite Modern Fairy Tale:

Tithe, by Holly Black.  It’s a series.  The second one is called Ironside.  I really enjoyed reading them.  She has another book called Valiant, which was good, but personally, I liked the first two better. 

Image

I know I prefer a little daily dose of magic in my life, this was one way to get my fix for a few days. 

Favorite Nail Polish:

Let me start off by saying, I don’t go to the nail salon. I have never gotten a pedicure or a manicure.  Actually, maybe I got a manicure once in 8th grade before “graduation”.  I don’t remember.  I got “tips” put on and I hated it so much I ripped them off myself.  Yes, it hurt and I remember nails breaking.  Anyway, I use my hands.  A lot.  So, yeah.  I’m more of a do-it-yourself-and-don’t-waste-money-on-stupid-shit kind of girl.  I include manicures and pedicures in the “stupid shit” category.  (Sorry if I offend anyone.)

Image

Avon Speed Dry +30 seconds.  It comes in a variety of (cute) colors, I just got one called “swift sherbet” which I love.  I don’t have the patience to wait for nails to dry, and I always seem to start getting itchy as soon as I paint my nails, so the fact that they dry so quickly is perfect for me. 

Favorite: Chapstick

First of all, Chapstick is maybe one of the most important products in my life.  I’m a lip-balm-a-holic.  At any given moment, I own (and lose) 10 different kinds of chapsticks, lip balms, lip gloss, lipstick, etc..  Some are better than others.  Some are good enough to get the job done until you can get the good stuff.  But some, are perfect. Like Maybelline’s Baby Lips.

 

Image

It comes in a bunch of different colors.  Personally, I like the peach one the best.  But there are so many colors to choose from.  The best part is it gives you color like a lipstick and moisture like a chapstick.  It’s a beautiful thing.

 

If you like my list of stuff, maybe you’ll like some other things I’m into.  I make jewelry too, here’s the link.  All of my earrings are pretty lightweight, which is important to me.  Everything is handmade and one of a kind. 

http://www.etsy.com/shop/salvadordollie

Also, here is a link to the books that I’ve written that are currently for sale.

http://www.barnesandnoble.com/s/Christina-hart-?aref=1535&keyword=Christina+hart&store=BOOK

Enjoy!

xo

Leave a Reply

