Deciding When It’s Time to Walk Away

8 Feb

Image

 

It’s never easy to say goodbye to someone you love, but it gets easier knowing when it’s time to say goodbye.

I’ve heard a few good quotes in my life related to this topic.  I came up with that one in the midst of a break up I was struggling with.  I had been unsure whether or not I should end the relationship.  When I finally realized that getting out of it was the right thing to do, I wrote that down on a piece of paper in an old notebook.  As soon as I wrote it, I knew I was making the right decision. 

It’s hard to decide to break up with someone you care about.  I’m not sure if it’s only because we care about them and are sad to see them exiting our life, or if it’s one big mixture of sadness, guilt, failure, foolishness and all around abundance of uncertainty and trepidation.  Either way, it never gets easier.  And that’s when I wrote the quote.

It’s never easy to say goodbye to someone you love…but it gets easier knowing when it’s time to say goodbye.

The more I read it, the more true it became.  And the more true it became, the more I knew I was making the right decision.  I’ve always believed (and still believe) that a person should make you happier much more than they make you angry or sad in a relationship.  The moment the latter becomes true, it’s over for me.

 

A few other good quotes I’ve heard on the subject:

“Chase a man who wants you, not the man that you want.”

“Trying to forget someone you love is like trying to remember someone you never knew.”

““Relationships are like glass. Sometimes it’s better to leave them broken than try to hurt yourself putting it back together.”

“Some people think that it’s holding on that makes one strong; sometimes it’s letting go.”

“The loss of love is not nearly as painful as our resistance to accepting it is.”

And last but not least…

“An ex is an ex for a reason.”

It may seem impossible and confusing…but time makes it easier to look back and see that we made the right decision. 

2 Responses to “Deciding When It’s Time to Walk Away”

  1. andy1076 February 8, 2013 at 3:55 am #

    So much truth in all the quotes, It really is easier making the decision than the act but you know deep down it is the right thing to do. If it’s truly over right?

  2. ajaytao2010 February 8, 2013 at 1:00 pm #

    Nice reading about you.

    Thanks. for visiting my blog Ajaytao2010@wordpress.com. Browse through the category sections, I feel you may definitely find something of your interest.

Leave a Reply

