Babies on Board…..ALONE! Who Raised Your Parents?!

7 Feb

Image

 

It’s 9:30pm on a cold Wednesday night.  Do you know where your children are?  Or did you willingly leave them unattended in your car while you shopped in the supermarket?  This is what I like to call “BAD Parenting”. 

Let me tell you a little story..

I went to pathmark last night for pads and apples.  (Don’t ask.)  When I pulled into my parking spot, there was a station wagon in the spot next to me with the lights on.  I had my dog in the car and she ran over to the passenger side window and started getting excited. 

When I looked next to us, the station wagon had three small children in the backseat.  There was no parent.  Not even a half of a parent or some small portion of one.  There was an infant in a car seat.  There was what looked to be like a toddler (maybe 2 or 3 years old) and one child that was a bit older, but still young.  I guessed maybe he was six. 

I waved to them and waited outside in the parking lot, looking around to see if any one of the adults belonged to these kids.  I didn’t see any.  All of the people that were in the parking lot got into their cars and left.  I didn’t want to leave the kids, but I didn’t have my cell phone on me to call the police.  I ran inside and told the manager on duty that there were small children left unattended in the parking lot and that she should make an announcement or call the police. 

I didn’t hear any announcement made.  I rushed around the supermarket, looking for anyone that seemed like they might be these kids’ parent.  I didn’t find anyone who was rushing.  Everyone was taking their sweet time.  I was in and out in less than five minutes. 

When I was buying my stuff, the employees told me they had found the person who did it.  And that she seemeed like “she was just that type of person”.  Does that make it okay?  This woman’s kids should be taken from her.  I’m sorry.  That is negligence at it’s finest.  I could have broken one of those windows and kidnapped those kids if I wanted to. 

Part of me felt that I should have brought them all into the store with me and pretended like they were mine.  Maybe then I would have been able to find out who was their parent or person in charge of them. 

This topic just never fails to amaze me, how some people are such bad parents.  Who does that?  Who leaves children alone in a car while you shop at a supermarket?  You couldn’t pay me a million dollars to do that.  There are just too many risks here. 

It’s your job as a parent or caretaker to protect children at all costs, and to volunteer to put them in harm’s way is unbelievable to me.  Take a course in parenting, or maybe just grow up. 

Who raised these people, anyway?

 

Image

7 Responses to “Babies on Board…..ALONE! Who Raised Your Parents?!”

  1. Santhya February 7, 2013 at 3:30 pm #

    SMFH! Who ever raised the parents of the children in the car probably did the same thing to them when they were younger leaving them unattended. In Brooklyn its worse these parents talk to their kids in such a way u wouldnt believe ! Cursing at them u name it its happening here.

  2. andy1076 February 7, 2013 at 3:57 pm #

    Personally, i would of had the store call the cops, talk about failed parenting geez 😦

    • Daily Rants with the Bitch Next Door February 7, 2013 at 4:05 pm #

      Right? I guess they caught the woman on the way out right after I said something. I didn’t have my cell phone on me to call the police. Fail.

      • andy1076 February 8, 2013 at 12:12 am #

        no no not fail at all, I believe you brought awareness to the employees at the store so the next time that woman walks in and leaves her kids behind, they will call the cops for sure!

  3. Samantha Nicolette February 7, 2013 at 4:35 pm #

    wow! I don’t even let my little ones sleep alone. So I most certainly wouldn’t leave them in a car.

Leave a Reply

