Silly Games that we Play…Whether We Want to or Not

5 Feb

Image

Why do people play games in relationships?  It starts to feel like a long night of monopoly where everyone has houses and no one will win.  Why can’t people just be direct and say what they’re really feeling instead of avoiding the issue or ignoring the person altogether?  Someone once told me that false pride, ego, and stubbornness can ruin almost anything.  He was right.  And I was so angry and stubborn that I didn’t agree in the heat of the moment.  That’s the problem with our emotions.  They get the best of us.  They make us say and do things we regret. 

Although I believe in saying how you feel and speaking your truth, you have to be careful.  Because once you say something, you can’t take it back.  You can’t pretend it was never said.  Words are permanent, as much as they come and go, they linger long after they’re spoken.  People believe the negative faster than they’ll take a compliment.  This is especially true in relationships.  Someone can tell you you’re beautiful over and over and over again, but once he says something negative about you…you feel like he just started being honest. 

I’m not sure why we think so little of ourselves, or how we can overcome it and realize our potential.  I’m not sure everyone has this problem, maybe just the majority, maybe half the population.  Maybe I can only speak for myself.  You can never say all women or all men… because all of us aren’t the same.  Far from it.  We’re all different.

 

…but we’re all human.

 

5 Responses to “Silly Games that we Play…Whether We Want to or Not”

  1. andy1076 February 5, 2013 at 4:27 am #

    I can’t tell you how many times I’ve felt this way myself, It’s without a doubt frustrating. Why Is it so difficult for people to be honest with their thoughts instead of taking us for a wild ride right?

  2. Santhya February 5, 2013 at 4:47 am #

    Is it that its boring when we r straight up I dont even kno im just tired of.playing games keep it trill for ever!

  3. smilecalm February 5, 2013 at 5:11 am #

    Nice exploration! my favorite games in relationship are twister and jenga. true love requires patience and understanding, which can be fun, but not what i would call a game.

  4. Mooselicker February 5, 2013 at 4:19 pm #

    Ugh I agree with you here. They feel like necessary games. It’s never healthy. Even a friendly competition in a relationship can turn real ugly.

  5. Grace February 7, 2013 at 8:27 pm #

    “Do you love me? Are you playing your love games with me? I just wanna know cause I need your loving. Come on, yeah”.
    — Old Greg

Leave a Reply

